PANO-Sabotage for the fun of it

Feet on ground head in sky

One day months and months ago, I saw an image on Flicker that led me to a group called PANO-Vision. This group is dedicated to creating an art form from what they term PANO-sabotage, the deliberate use of odd motions, flips, and waves while taking a panoramic photo. It turns out that not all brands and models of phones and cameras are suitable for this technique, and the focus is on the use of iPhones.

To make the image I call Feet on the Ground Head in the Sky, I stood in my backyard on sunny morning shortly after sunrise, put my iPhone camera in panoramic mode, and started by aiming at my feet. Once I opened the shutter, I slowly rotated the phone (held horizontal) upward to capture the bushes and sky. As I reached the top of the arc, the length of the panorama was about at its end. I had to quickly snap my hand around to point the front camera toward my face.

It actually took several attempts to get this to work. Sometimes I waved the phone in an arc to come around to my face. What I experienced was the difficulty of extending a panorama past 180Ā°. Yet, with a combination of slow and rapid hand motions, it was attainable.

Insider secret: my original image had cut off the top of my head. A bug/feature of this technique is that there are often rapid transitions made in the image that cut out or distort a section of the image. Part of the art of PANO-Vision is to take advantage of these artifacts. In this case, however, I preferred to keep my head, so I pasted in the top half from one of the unused attempts from this morning’s photo-adventure.

If you are interested in learning more, I recommend you study the work and read the commentary in the PANO-Vision group. To see more of my efforts, check out my album on Flickr called Pano and other distortions. Most effectively, try it yourself!

By the way, I made this particular image today in response the ds106 Daily Create prompt. This month is a 30-day challenge, but it’s not too late to join in. Even one day with an art project will boost your creative spirit!

 

 

One comment on “PANO-Sabotage for the fun of it

  1. Bill, you’ve done a fantastic job here of eloquently and very skillfully describing the Pano-Sabotage technique in general and your process for this image specifically. With such a fluid medium that’s so similar to musical improvisation, with it’s unexpected flashes of confluence and disintegration ( often simultaneously ) Pano-Sabotage is a dynamic field for daring experimenters such as yourself. Thank you indeed for the shout out about PANO–Vision, the group.

    – Richard S Warner, co-founder / co-admin with Paul Ewing.

Leave a Reply

