headless ds106 first week thoughts

Books found at a yard sale. Future reading from the past!

Books found at a yard sale. Future reading from the past!

Well, the first week of the headless ds106 fall semester is finished. It really began several weeks ago, but my summary will concentrate on my activity since Monday August 26. Coinciding with the same date, I began teaching a new five-week term at my college (ECPI University). I have three courses, totaling 25 classroom hours and five online hours each week. Plus I have begun a new project to develop an in-house iBook textbook in fiber optic communication technology. Plus a couple of meetings. And a few other normal administrative duties. No excuses, and I know that many of my ds106 colleagues are in similar situations.

I have already created this blog for participation in the summer ds106zone term. As an outside participant, I was introduced to the ds106 concepts, tools, people, and way-of-life. A couple of weeks ago I took up the offer of Reclaim Hosting for my own domain and hosting, but other than installing WordPress for the www landing page, I have not yet worked on that. Check occasionally at http://www.wesmith.org and you might see some development during this month.

I have done some daily creates. Taking the easy way out, I took pictures with my iPad, used a previous picture, and made a simple pencil drawing. In addition, I was able to make a few comments on the creations of other classmates, and interact on twitter.

Make an impression. Indentation printing of logo on Ziploc salad container. Zoom to Zip.

Make an impression. Indentation printing of logo on Ziploc salad container. Zoom to Zip.

Giulia's birthday. Scribbledehobble on an online site, screenshot edited in Paint.

Giulia’s birthday. Scribbledehobble on an online site, screenshot edited in Paint.

Daily Create 600: Develop Something!

Daily Create 600: Develop Something!

Daily Create 601: ds106ish backwards. Many use GIMP, open and free!

Daily Create 601: ds106ish backwards. Many use GIMP, open and free!

My son and his bride, 21st century elegance in an 18th century parsonage in Copenhagen.

My son and his bride, 21st century elegance in an 18th century parsonage in Copenhagen.

Beyond this, I found an opportunity to perform community service by filling in some of this weekend’s programming blocks on ds106radio. I had a minor difficulty uploading a few tunes, but in twitter conversation with Alan Levine and Todd Conaway, I bailed out of Internet Explorer and used Chrome instead, which worked much better for the Airtime program. Programming caught up through Labor Day, but I see many more blocks available for everyone else to choose their favorite programming. Learn how from the CogDog at http://cogdogblog.com/24175.

It’s been great seeing all the folks who have joined this expedition! I can’t keep up with it all, and also doing the work, but we are free to determine our own level of participation. I will continue…

Upcoming plans: two-day trip in September to Fort Bragg, NC to evaluate some Army training. Two-day trip in October to Fredericksburg, VA to attend the OpenVA conference at University of Mary Washington. Work on my new domain. Reading three books right now (The Fourth Bear, Jasper Fforde; Helter Skelter, Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry; Third Wish, Robert Fulghum). Plus lots of semi-random surfing for learning, following the trails from Jim Groom’s True Crime class, listening to podcasts that the trail from ScottLo has led to at OvernightScape UnderGround, and revitalizing Bible studies.

2 comments on “headless ds106 first week thoughts

  1. Michael says:

    Looks good! Army training? My dad is COOL. Lovely wedding picture from the parsonage (which, as of yesterday, we no longer live in). What was the assignment for that picture?

Leave a Reply

